Select Page

The IBPA Benjamin Franklin Awards, which includes fifty-six categories recognizing excellence in book editorial and design, is regarded as one of the highest national honors for independent publishers. Now accepting entries until December 15th, any book with a copyright date of 2021 is eligible for submission.



Nine Koehler Books authors have won Benjamin Franklin Awards in the past, claiming categories such as Best New Voice in Fiction, Science Fiction and Fantasy, LGBTQ, Cover Design, and so on. We hope to add more to the list!

Recognizing excellence and innovation in independent publishing, the IBPA Benjamin Franklin Awards searches for both editorial and design greatness. If selected, all winners (Gold and Silver) will receive:

  • An engraved trophy marking their achievement (Gold only)
  • Recognition prior to the awards ceremony on the IBPA website.
  • Archived listing after the awards ceremony on the IBPA website.
  • Two tickets to the awards ceremony recognizing all of the award winners.
  • 15% off all IBPA marketing programs during the book(s) winning year. 
  • A press release template to use when personally announcing the winning book(s).
  • A personalized award certificate.
  • Special award stickers to affix to the winning books.

For further information on how to enter, click here.