Select Page

Books by Bruce K. Berger

  • Brothers Bound

    How much can the human spirit endure? Buck, a Caucasian teacher, and Hues, a multiracial street preacher, form an unlikely friendship after meeting in a bar fight near their Army training base in 1969. When their helicopter crashes later in Vietnam and they’re captured by Viet Cong soldiers, they begin to learn the power of brotherhood. Marched to a prison camp and forced into hard labor, they are beaten frequently and given little to eat or drink as they suffer a brutal life in a bamboo cage.


    Each day begins with the ominous question: how can they survive another day? They discover the gift of good memories and share them often. And they find great hope in Hues’s incredible life spirit that lights their darkest days.

    Fourteen months after their capture, Hues damages his ankle so severely he can’t walk. With death closer than ever, they escape and begin a harrowing journey through the dense jungle filled with predators-the enemy, the wildlife, and even their fellow soldiers who may not recognize them. Buck vows to carry Hues every step until they reach safety, but can they possibly make it? Their devotion to each other drives them onward.

    See details
Bruce K. Berger, PhD, professor emeritus, University of Alabama, is the author of Fragments: The Long Coming Home from Vietnam, winner of the 2021 Gold Medal for Best Poetry Book by the Military Writers Society of America. He served in the US Army from 1969 to 1971, including one year in Vietnam, where he worked in the Casualty Branch of the 101st Airborne Division in Phu Bai. He wrote hundreds of sympathy letters to grieving families back home for the loss of their soldier and sometimes helped Graves Registration gather fallen brothers to take them to the mortuary. He also authored In Our Dreams We Read (2012), which explores adult illiteracy in Alabama, and two academic books about communication leadership: Gaining Influence in Public Relations (2006) and Public Relations Leaders as Sensemakers (2014).

Visit author website